My favorite takeaways from the class readings and videos this week were the readings:

Your Whole Souls as an Offering Unto Him by David A. Bednar

Your Entrepreneurs Journal by Jeff Sandefer

 

From Elder Bednar:

  • When I first started reading the article I was apprehensive. I thought it was going to be something I’ve heard before or read before. I wasn’t expecting to learn anything. I had to stop a few times to re-read something when my mind wandered. As time went on though, I got sucked into the article and his thoughts and determined that I want to read this article often to gain new insights each time, and remember why I want to work so hard.
  • The academic path of least resistance is what I did when I was a student last at BYU-I. I don’t want that to happen again, thanks in part to this article. I want to be the best student I can be, absorb and incorporate when I am learning, and develop a better sense of self in the process.
  • I never connected the academic level of some of our apostles with their ability to become special witnesses of Christ. I have always viewed academics and spirituality as separate entities.
  • I loved Joseph Smith’s words about giving up everything due to actual KNOWLEDGE, not just a belief.
  • Love the quote by McConkie:
    • Sacrifice involves giving up the things of this world because the promises of blessings to be gained in a better. In the eternal perspective there is no sacrifice in giving up all things – even including the laying down of one’s life – if eternal life is gained through such a course.
  • “True consecration is motivated by charity and produces an increased desire to serve.”
    • Why would I not want to become my best self for the Lord?
    • I will be blessed for doing my best, becoming my best, increasing myself, and sharing myself.
  • Love the quote by Romney about self-reliance. I never thought about us being self-reliant gives us more chances and opportunities to serve. But you can’t teach or do if you don’t know and do to begin with.

 

From Sandefer:

  • My initial thoughts on an entrepreneurship journal were ‘why does this matter?’, ‘how will this help me?’, and ‘i’m awful at journaling so this isn’t going to go well’. But after reading Sandefer’s article, I have hope that this will be a great tool for me, I will learn a lot, and I can apply some of the tips and ideas he shares towards a personal journal as well.
  • Key things to do in an entrepreneurship journal:
    1. Review past entries often and keep learning from them
    2. Ask why? everywhere you go; observe
      • I can learn a lot of lessons from places I go and things I do. I notice things from restaurants, stores, etc that I do and don’t like. I should record those impressions and learn from them so I can use them in my own ventures to be a better entrepreneur.
    3. Lessons Learned and Lessons Not Yet Learned sections
      • Review ‘Lessons Not Yet Learned’ section often to set goals and see if you can move anything to the ‘Lessons Learned’ section.
    4. Journal often; you can journal as often as you like, multiple times a day, whenever lessons are learned
      • I never thought about journaling so often for some reason, but it’s a great idea.
    5. Be specific in your entries to always remember the lessons learned
      • It takes a lot of time though. I wonder what I can do to make it go more quickly though I’m a busy mom, wife, etc.
    6. Share your journal with peers/mentors/friends
      • Such a great idea. I also want to share my entries with God. Write letters/entries to Him. He wants to help and will help if I involve Him.
    7. Don’t worry about writing perfectly, just write!
      • Such a big hang up for me is wanting to write perfectly, format correctly, etc. In this journal entry I’ve loosened up a lot, but I am still pretty stiff in my entries.

I’m really excited about this course now. It sounds like it’s going to be just the challenge I’ve been looking for for a long time, but haven’t been able to find or taken the time to do. I’m looking forward to learning more about myself, my strengths and weaknesses, setting more concrete goals, and more. I’m especially excited, and nervous, to see if I have what it takes to be an entrepreneur.

