Tasteful Typography Project

Here is the project in word that I designed it in:

Word Capture

Process: I came across this poem a few weeks ago while reading an article for one of my classes. I fell in love with it and the message hit me especially because I am a mom of 2. I first found a different image, one that had a man walking on a path with sheep in nearby fields, but the background was too busy and I didn’t like having a text box. I searched some more and found this image of a mom leading some lambs, and the openness of the space allowed for the text to work better. Because the body copy is long, I didn’t want to add the title and author along with it so I chose to put it on the side leading up. I contrasted the different texts with different font and text colors. I really like how it turned out!

Critique Report: I critiqued Kayla LaFroth’s and Matt Searle’s project.

Candace Stauch, Tiffany O’Mealy, and Sister Peterson critiqued my original project. Tiffany suggested finding another image, and I agreed with her. After finding a new image and redoing the project I emailed Sister Peterson with the changes. She suggested I move the font from the right side to the left and the title going from top down to bottom up so your eyes would wander up into the sheep and then into the text box. After rearranging the text a bit I made those changes. I’m happy with the end result after changing the image and the text around.

Link to image: http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=20745&picture=sheep-and-lamb

Font name/Category: Title: Shorelines Script Bold, Body Copy: Liberation Sans

