Speaker’s Outline:

The Family: A Proclamation to the World

Quickly summarize the following points:

  • marriage between a man and woman is ordained of God
  • sacred ordinances and covenants available in holy temples
  • family is ordained of God

Happiness in family life is most likely to be achieved when founded upon the teachings of the Lord Jesus Christ.

Successful marriages and families are established and maintained on principles of:

  • faith – faith is like a little seed
  • prayer – pray to God for personal revelation
  • repentance – say ‘I’m sorry’
  • forgiveness – forgive others
  • respect – “All things whatsoever ye would that men should do to you, do ye even so to them” (Matt. 7:12)
  • love – love one another
  • compassion – ‘judge not that ye be not judged’
  • work – work together for your good
  • wholesome recreational activities – have fun!

Process:

I really wanted to focus on The Family: A Proclamation to the World. I had at first intended to focus on the whole proclamation, but when reviewing the project instructions I realized it would be near impossible for someone to speak on all of it in the 18-minutes provided without it feeling rushed. My audience is for those wanting to learn how to make their families and marriages better, and I wanted them to come away learning something. So I chose to focus on one of my favorite parts of the proclamation, the part about successful marriages and families. I feel a speaker would have plenty of time to go over these 9 principles in the 18-minutes and briefly give an example of each. The images I chose represent each principle and give a visual example of each one. I chose to represent each principle on its own slide. I changed all the imaged to the same saturation of 30% to unify them and then used the eyedropper tool to choose a matching color for the colorful shape next to the word. They were all muted colors. While I changed from my sketch a little in regards to the shape, the idea stayed about the same.

sketches-page-001

sketches-page-002

Critique Report:

I critiqued the designs of Litz Lara, Brady Jestice, Tiffany O’Mealy, Noelani Cho, Chelsie Godown, Matt Searle, Martha Hicks, and David Jenkins. I critiqued so many hoping one of them would critique mine, but as of 8PM I haven’t had a student critique yet. I added it to my FB wall though and my aunt Dianne Gifford critiqued it. She liked the images and lettering I chose, but didn’t like the background the letters were on and sometimes the placement was off for her. I agreed about the placement. Some of the letters (t, p, g, f, etc.) had large loops and that made me have to move the word up on the shape background in order to keep the same font size. I didn’t think it was too distracting though and chose to keep it.

Finally I have some critiques from students Litz Lara, Martha Hicks, and Tanner Jones. They like the pictures but thought the font needed some changing, but they weren’t sure what needed done. I agree, the font isn’t perfect, but overall I like it on most of the slides so I chose not to change it.

Link to the talk: https://www.lds.org/topics/family-proclamation?lang=eng&old=true

Font: Shorelines Script Bold

Links to slide images: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

