I hope to keep learning about myself throughout this course to know my strengths and weaknesses and things I need to work on and improve on.

Reading ‘Mastery’ this week was better. I’m noticing more that I like having lists, things I can follow and check off. I liked reading about the 5 Keys, which are:

  • Instruction

Best thing to do – arrange for first-rate instruction. Learning never ends.

  • Practice

The master is the one who stays on the mat five minutes longer every day than anybody else.

  • Surrender

Surrender; give it a try. There are no experts, only learners.

  • Intentionality

Every master is a master of vision. Envision where you want to be.

  • The Edge

Masters challenge previous limits and take risks for the sake of higher performance and become obsessive at times in that pursuit.

After reading the ‘Mastery’ chapters, I wondered: What do I want to be a master at?

I really don’t know what the answer to that question is. I know one thing I want to be a master at is being Christlike. Can you be a master of more than one thing?

Quotes I liked from ‘Success is Gauged by Self-Mastery’

  • No greater goal could be set, no greater progress could be made, and no greater joy and satisfaction could be experienced than to determine that we will accept Jesus Christ as the Savior of the world, and live His teachings.
    • The end goal of life that often gets obscured from our view by life around us.
  • You will never have a greater or lesser dominion than that over yourself. the height of a man’s success is gauged by his self-mastery; the depth of his failure by his self-abandonment. … And this law is the expression of eternal justice. He who cannot establish dominion over himself will have no dominion over others.
    • Reminds me of the scripture, line upon line and precept upon precept. We cannot expect more until we are ok with what we already have and use it wisely.
  • As we think of this (Matt. 7:13-14), it is so evident that those who keep on the straight and narrow path leading to their goal, realizing that the straight line is the shortest distance between two points and that detours are very dangerous, are those who succeed in life and enjoy self-realization and achievement. This requires self-control and self-discipline.
    • Reading about the straight line being the shortest distance between 2 points stood out to me while I was reading this. I thought, of course! But then I thought, what if you’re going from one side of a mountain to the other side? Not so easy to stay in a line.

 

Though not really entrepreneurship related, this quote from the book stood out to me and made me think. I’ve thought it before but haven’t really had it in words before though. I agree with this quote though:

“It’s sad that over the past hundred years almost every aspect of our national life – industry, transportation, communication, computation, entertainment – has changed almost beyond recognition, while our schools remain essentially the same” (Mastery, p. 69).

