From “The 5 Why’s” by Eric Ries I learned how to fix a problem. I like his idea of asking multiple questions when something bad occurs and thinking of the answers to each instead of just thinking there’s only 1 cause. If there’s a problem, find 1 improvement to make and make it step-by-step. Determine the problem, spend a little time fixing it; when it’s a problem again come back and work on it some more. Repeat until the problem’s fixed. I feel this relates not only to business but everyday life situations such as marriage. If there’s a problem in the relationship it usually can’t be resolved overnight. It takes time, especially when the issue stems from a behavioral trait. Watching the video just gave me more hope in some relationships; fix a little at a time and eventually the problem will be fixed.

Elder Holland has some great quotes and talks. I really enjoyed listening to him speak and reading the long talk.  Some different things he said that I enjoyed:

  • Nothing very valuable can come without significant sacrifice and effort and patience on our part.
  • Though nothing in our lives seems to require the courage and patient long-suffering of those early Latter-day Saints, still almost every worthwhile endeavor I can imagine takes something of that same determination.
  • Why should a marriage require fewer tears and less toil and shabbier commitment than your job or your clothes or your car?
  • ‘We never began to build any temple without the bells of hell beginning to ring’ Brigham Young.
  • As long and laborious as the effort may seem, please keep shaping and setting the stones that will make your accomplishment ‘a grand and imposing spectacle’. Take advantage of every opportunity to learn and grow. Dream dreams and see visions. Work towards their realization. Wait patiently when you have no other choice. Lean on your sword and rest a while, but get up and fight again. Perhaps you will not see the full meaning of your effort in your own lifetime. But your children will, or your children’s children will, until finally you, with all of them, can give the Hosanna shout.

Of course, President Thomas S. Monson’s words are wonderful as well. Some things he said that I really enjoyed were:

  • that his wife ‘never once complained when [he] left home to attend meetings or to fulfill an assignment’.
    • Definitely something I need to work on. I want to be a supportive wife and can use some improvement in this area.
  • Change for the better can come to all.
  • Our homes are to be more than sanctuaries; they should also be places where God’s Spirit can dwell, where the storm stops at the door, where love reigns and peace dwells.
    • What a wonderful environment that would be for families; for children to grow up in; for couples to grow closer together in.
  • Mortality is a period of testing, a time to prove ourselves worthy to return to the presence of our Heavenly Father. In order to be tested, we must sometimes face challenges and difficulties. At times there appears to be no light at the tunnel’s end—no dawn to break the night’s darkness. We feel surrounded by the pain of broken hearts, the disappointment of shattered dreams, and the despair of vanished hopes. We join in uttering the biblical plea “Is there no balm in Gilead?” We are inclined to view our own personal misfortunes through the distorted prism of pessimism. We feel abandoned, heartbroken, alone. If you find yourself in such a situation, I plead with you to turn to our Heavenly Father in faith. He will lift you and guide you. He will not always take your afflictions from you, but He will comfort and lead you with love through whatever storm you face.
  • I pledge my life, my strength – all that I have to offer – in serving Him and in directing the affairs of His Church in accordance with His will and by His inspiration.
    • Though I wont’t be called to lead the church, I want to be able to say this about myself, that I pledged my life to the Lord and served Him.

We started a new book this week, Hero’s Journey, and again I’m not a fan of this new book yet. I wasn’t expecting to read short stories from countless people and it’s throwing me off a bit. One tip mentioned that I really like was to choose a poem/psalm/prose that speaks to you and lifts your spirits and commit it to memory by saying each morning for 1 month – then it will be with you in times of stress and hurt.

So, a song I have always enjoyed because of the words (not the artist) has been ‘The Climb’ by Miley Cyrus – it’s just inspiring to me.

I also LOVE this new song by Hillary Scott, ‘Thy Will be Done’. It’s amazingly powerful, full of truth and light and hope.

