Outdoor light:

Light: Outdoor
Light: Outdoor

Indoor light:

Light: Indoor
Light: Indoor

Foreground:

Focus: Foreground
Focus: Foreground

Background:

Focus: Background
Focus: Background

Rule of thirds:

Composition: Rule of Thirds
Composition: Rule of Thirds

Lead room:

Composition: Lead Room
Composition: Lead Room

At one point I wanted to be a photographer. But that hasn’t happened, and I don’t think I’m great at it. I tend to avoid taking pictures mostly because we have a point & shoot camera only. Someday I hope to have a DSLR camera to take quality images. However, I was amazed my camera produced good images like this (with some minor edits).

I took the outdoor light picture at the nearby park when the snow had melted. The sun was shining and it was blue skies so I took advantage of it and headed outside. I mostly increased the white and shadow.

I took a picture of my wedding bouquet with the backdrop of a quilt we received from my husband’s grandma. We’ve been married for over 5 years and don’t have a picture of either, so I’m glad I could take this picture finally. I used a lamp for the lighting. I changed the blue setting a bit to make the purple look more like the original quilt.

The focus pictures were the hardest ones to take. It took me forever to find the correct setting in the menu but I finally did. I took the pictures in the ‘jungle’ on campus. I was so excited to see my camera focus on a single flower! I added black and fixed the sharpness on the images.

I couldn’t figure out what to do for rule of thirds for days. I finally looked out the window at the fence behind us and saw all the lines thanks to the freshly fallen snow. I took the picture above and increased the white and added shadow.

My dog cooperated with the lead picture and I was excited to get a picture of him in the snow. I wanted to edit out a couple of the smudge snowflakes but couldn’t figure out that process in Lightroom. I increased the sharpness to make his fur stand out against the snow more, increased the white for the snow and enhanced the black. I also used the dehaze to emphasize his footprints in the snow a bit – loved it.

I’ve never used Lightroom before and while I’m no expert at it now, I enjoyed this assignment because I got to take some fun pictures, use some dusty photography skills, and learn a new program.

