Subject: Floral Arranging class

Images:

Pixie Carnation Closeup
Pixie Carnation Closeup
Chrysanthemum
Chrysanthemum
Sea Holly
Sea Holly
Liatris Closeup
Liatris Closeup
Floral Wire
Floral Wire
Floral Ribbon
Floral Ribbon

Photoshop Collage:

9A Photographic Study
9A Photographic Study

Process: I was struggling thinking of what subject to do after reading the assignment. I couldn’t think of a single subject. When I walked into my floral arranging class the next day I knew I wanted to focus on that. My audience is to those wondering what flower arranging class is. It’s all about flowers, but there’s more than just flowers involved in the process (including floral tape, ribbon, wire cutters, scissors, wire, etc)and I wanted to show that and something you could create in the class (this week was boutonnieres and corsages).

Taking the photos and editing them in Lightroom was really easy. Working with Photoshop was another story though. Though it wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be and I did figure it out after a little snag, it was a long process for what I feel not to be an amazing end result. I’ve made a lot of designs using Canva.com and sure missed using that for this assignment because collages in that are much easier to make. But it was nice using some of the tools in Photoshop and learning how the ‘Create Clipping Mask’ tool worked.

Critiques: I critiqued David Jenkins, Darcy Garrison, Roxanna Peterson, Sofia Aleinikova, Chelsie Godown, and Mason McClellan’s images. Sofia and Mason critiqued mine. Sofia suggested having one image in the bottom right instead of the 2 images I had, and I agreed so I fixed that. Mason also suggested changing the picture of the ribbons I had in the collage with just flowers because it was the only 1 without flowers in it and he thought it didn’t look like it belonged. I wasn’t sure about that, but after adding a picture of flowers I decided he was right. I also got some input from my friends. The advice helped a lot.

Font/Type: Walkway Condensed Semibold/Sans Serif, Jenna Sue/Script

