I enjoyed reading ‘Message to Garcia’ and learning these things:

  • Delegate, even if you could do it on your own or quicker. It’s the only way to make a grand vision a reality.
    • This is something I’ve struggled with. I was RS activities coordinator for a year in a small branch. My helpers were new members of the church and this was their first calling. Most didn’t come to meetings and if they did they wouldn’t follow through on assignments I gave them. I didn’t delegate much and didn’t want to because I knew from experience they wouldn’t do anything. It’s hard for me to delegate assignments to others because I just don’t trust them to do their part, or do it ‘as well as I do it’.
  • You have a choice. You can blame your parents, teachers, coaches, or bosses, or you can choose to start developing the attitudes, habits, and instincts so your name will be called when success hangs in the balance.
    • I struggle with not blaming others sometimes and my husband seems to always blame others when something goes wrong. It’s not happy-making and positive, and always brings us down. There is definitely some blame to be given to your parents and how you were raised – the views from your childhood shape much of your life as an adult. However, as I’ve learned over the last few months, that’s a codependent behavior. My family is very codependent and I am as well. I know it’s not just their fault. Also learning about the 7 Habits from Covey is helping broaden my understanding and provide me with tools to overcome this.
  • The world is overpopulated with planners, procrastinators, and political schemers – parasites who prey on a market economy. People who will accept a task and execute it promptly are as rare today as they were when Elbert Hubbard wrote of Colonel Rowan’s mission.
    • I’m a procrastinator and planner. I hate it. It’s a weakness of mine I have always been trying to overcome. I’m grateful I know about it and can choose daily to work on it.

I also enjoyed learning about the 3 principles of leadership from President Clark’s talk. They are:

  1. Lead by example
  2. Lead with vision
  3. Lead with love

I want to read Good to Great by Jim Collins someday

The book ‘Hero’s Journey’ keeps throwing me off. I expect to read more words from the authors, but it’s instead a compilation of stories throughout time that teach the principles the authors want to share. Some different quotes from the book that I liked:

  • ‘The credit belongs to the man who…spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly…’ – Theodore Roosevelt
  • ‘There are all different kinds of voices calling you to all different kinds of work, and the problem is to find out which is the voice of God rather than of society, say, or the superego, or self-interest.’ – Frederick Buechner
  • ‘The kinds of work God usually calls you to is the kind of work (a) that you need to do and (b) that the world needs to have done’ – Frederick Buechner
  • story of ‘The Emperor of Flower Seeds’
