I was surprised to read in this weeks readings that many entrepreneurs don’t believe you can have money and power and happiness; they view it as an ‘either/or’. I just thought they would have found the ‘secret’ to doing both, but many believe you have to choose. Which is more valuable to you – money or happiness? Not to say that money can’t result in things that bring you happiness. If in my family we had a secure job and were not living on student loans and could pay our monthly bills, I’d be happy for sure. Each month we struggle to do those things. But I believe the entrepreneurs are trying to teach that excess money can’t bring happiness, and that pursuing more than you need won’t bring happiness either because you’ll spend all your time and efforts in that instead of in more useful things, such as improving yourself, your relationships and family, etc. As Randy Komisar said, more money = more obligations, not more freedom/choice.

 

I liked the statement from Corey Bell, Acton Hero, that said:

I try to live my life in such a way that says ‘if not for __(insert your name here)__ being here this would not have been done’.

 

I really liked the tips from Meg Hirshberg of how you can help combine work and family more so it’s no such a battle of either/or. Some of her suggestions were:

  • kids need unstructured time – not just things you put on your calendar
  • all kids have different needs – talk to them individually in a way that relates to them
  • family weekly planning
  • talk about the business with your kids
  • date night and small moments with your spouse
  • engage spouse in your business through business trips, booths, board meetings, etc
  • do something together to use both your skills, bonus if it helps your business. Ex. open nonprofit, fundraiser, etc

 

Again, I loved James Ritchie’s words of wisdom on money and want to read The Richest Man in Babylon.

 

I really liked the ‘Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness’ article and plan to read it multiple times to learn more and follow the teachings therein. I was surprised to read that I’m likely as happy today as I ever will be, and that made me wonder about my happiness level. I want to increase it, but now I’m wondering how possible that can be. I feel like happiness is similar to codependency and we can change the level we’re at already, it just takes time and practice.

 

The ‘Attitude on Money’ article was interesting and made me think about money a little differently. My current attitude toward money is that I want more of it because I have so little of it. Having a family to provide for is hard, and since getting married over 5 years ago we’ve struggled a lot with money. We just haven’t had any really but somehow are blessed each month where we can pay all our important bills. I want to have more money to help our family, but I want to have excess to help others. We’ve been blessed so many times from others and secret helpers – people with excess money that are using it for the benefit of others. I want to do that. That’s part of my mission statement for life – live a Christ centered life where I’m in the service of my fellow beings and an instrument for good, not only with what I can currently do but financially as well. Because of this view of money, I feel like it will affect my life in a positive way. I don’t need or want fancy things. I just want my needs to be met and then to help provide for others around me, other children of God, my brothers and sisters, that are struggling in this life and could use an angel.

The rules recommended to prosper are:

  1. seek the Lord and have hope in Him
  2. keep the commandments, that includes temporal ones, tithing and fast offerings
  3. think about money and plan how you can become self-reliant
  4. take advantage of chances for learning so you will not be ignorant of these matters. ‘Education is the Key to Opportunity’ – Hinckley
  5. learn the laws upon which the blessings of wealth are predicated
  6. don’t send away the naked, the hungry, the thirsty, or the sick or those who are held captive

I hope that if I follow these rules, I will prosper and be able to bless those around me.

